OGC Architecture Board - OAB


Percivall, George (Open Geospatial Consortium, Inc.)

Group Description:

The OAB is a forum to discuss the OGC-wide standards architecture.  The OAB considers architecture consistency and life cycle management of the OGC standards baseline. The OAB evaluates current technology issues and identify gaps in the architecture that need to be responded to by the Membership.   The OAB provides guidance and recommendations to the TC and the PC.

 OAB Roles and Responsibilities:

  • Standards Development  
    • OGC Standards Roadmap
    • RFC Reviews
    • Standards Life Cycle Management 
  • Baseline Harmonization and Innovation
    • OAB Review of ORM Development
    • ORM used by OAB as guidance
    • Work Item consistency
    • Technology Trends   
  • Additional Responsibilities 
    • External Liaisons recommendations
    • Interoperability Experiments approval
    • Conflict Resolution and Appeals

OAB  Membership

Elected OAB member: term completion year

  • Andreas Matheus, Secure Dimensions: 2020
  • Carl Reed: 2020
  • Keith Ryden, Esri: 2020
  • Don Sullivan: NASA: 2020
  • Joan Maso,  Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona, 2020
  • Frederic Houbie, Luciad: 2021
  • Chris Little, UK Met Office: 2021
  • John Herring, Oracle: 2021
  • David Blodgett, USGS: 2021
  • Michael Leedahl, Digital Globe: 2021
  • Tom Ingold, Boundless: 2022
  • Frank Terpstra, Geonovum: 2022
  • Chuck Heazel; 2022
  • Jeff Yutzler, Image Matters: 2022
  • Sara Saeedi, University of Calgary: 2022 

Appointed members of the OAB:

  • George Percivall, OGC CTO and Chief Engineer - OAB Chair
  • Scott Simmons, OGC COO and OGC Standards Program - Executive Director

Emeritus Members who have requested OAB observer status:

  • Erin Robinson, ESIP Federation
  • Chris Holmes, Planet
  • Josh Lieberman, Harvard
  • Arnulf Christl, metaspatial
  • Peter Baumann, Jacobs University
  • Paul Scarponcini, Bentley
  • Lorenzo Bigagli (CNR)
  • Giuseppe Conti (Trilogis Srl)
  • Simon Cox (CSIRO)
  • Jean Brodeur (NR Canada)
  • Ron Lake (Galdos)
  • Charles Roswell (Individual)
  • Peter Vretanos (CubeWerx)
  • Martin Daly (CadCorp)
  • Rick Pearsall (Retired)
  • Nicholas Lesage (IGN)
  • Mike Botts (Botts Innovative Resarch)
  • Satish Sankaran (ESRI)
  • (Doug Nebert was an OAB member at the time of his death)


OAB Policies and Procedures - approved 2018-09-20


Virtual OAB meeting, September 2020  (Not all OAB members present)