Hydrology DWG


Blodgett, Dave (US Geological Survey (USGS)) - Group Chair,
Boston, Tony (World Meteorological Organization (WMO)) - Group Chair,
Pecora, Silvano (World Meteorological Organization (WMO)) - Group Chair

Group Description:

The Hydrology Domain Working Group is a Joint WorkingĀ Group of the World Meteorological Organisation (WMO) and the OGC

The purpose of the Hydrology DWG is to provide a venue and mechanism for seeking technical and institutional solutions to the challenge of describing and exchanging data describing the state and location of water resources, both above and below the ground surface. The path to adoption will be through OGC papers and standards, advanced to ISO where appropriate, and also through the World Meteorological Organization's (WMO) and it's Commission for Hydrology (CHy) and Information Systems (WIS) activities.

While CHy has the recognized mandate to publish and promote standards in this area, OGC contributes to the process with its resources and experience in guiding collaborative development among disparate participants in a rapidly evolving technological environment. The OGC Hydrology DWG will provide a means of developing candidate standards for adoption by CHy as appropriate.

The Hydro DWG is open to both member and non member participation and is intended to be a public forum for communication, and both the email list and the wiki are open to interested parties.

Co-Chairs: Tony Boston (ANU, Australia), Silvano Pecora (ARPA, Italy) and David Blodgett (US Geological Survey, USA)

Co-chairs emeriti: David Lemon (CSIRO, Australia), Ulrich Looser (GRDC, Germany), Ilya Zaslavsky (SDSC/UCSD, USA)