About OWS-3

OGC Web Services, Phase 3 (OWS-3) was an Interoperability Initiative that advanced OGC technology in the following areas:
  • Common Architecture
  • OGC Location Services (OpenLS)
  • Sensor Web Enablement (SWE)
  • Geo-Decision Support Services (GeoDSS)
  • Geo-Digital Rights Management (GeoDRM)
  • The IEEE 1451™ and OASIS Common alerting Protocol (CAP) standards were used in OWS-3
The Open Geospatial Consortium (OGC) Interoperability Program (IP) is a global, hands-on and collaborative prototyping program for rapid development of proven candidate specifications for consideration for consensus adoption and public release by the OGC Specification Program.